2015 City Championship

2015 City Championship - Russ Wilson Wins

Russ Wilson is the new Cincinnati city champion! In Round 6 the final round, Russ was paired with 14-time champion Sergey Berchenko. Late in this game Sergey was up an outside passed pawn, while Russ had initiative towards Sergey's king and a time advantage. As spectators gathered, Sergey took his king to the center of the board where he had pawns and active pieces to defend it. A draw became possible as the players repeated moves - Russ angling for a path to Sergey's king and Sergey parrying the threats. Sergey broke the repetition and played for the win. Russ maintained the initiative, and broke through to a decisive advantage after Sergey ran very short on time.

Russ defeated three masters on his way to clear first.

Five-time champion FM Hans Multhopp took second, while William Morriss and Jeff Davis tied for third. David Rief, Anthony Bayless and Robert Chenault each took home class prizes.

Here are the final standings:

# Name Rtng Rd 1 Rd 2 Rd 3 Rd 4 Rd 5 Rd 6 Tot
1 Russell Wilson 2074 W11 W7 W2 W5 D3 W6 5.5
2 Hans Multhopp 2211 W15 W3 L1 W8 W6 W7 5.0
3 William S Morriss 2055 W12 L2 W10 W13 D1 D5 4.0
4 Jeffrey Stu Davis 1761 L7 W14 W9 H--- H--- W13 4.0
5 John B Randolph 2216 D6 W9 D8 L1 W15 D3 3.5
6 Sergey Berchenko 2210 D5 D8 W17 W7 L2 L1 3.0
7 John M Miller 2058 W4 L1 W15 L6 W8 L2 3.0
8 Anthony W Bayless 2001 W13 D6 D5 L2 L7 W14 3.0
9 Robert Chenault 1910 D10 L5 L4 H--- W12 W15 3.0
10 David B Rief 1590 D9 H--- L3 L12 W17 X16 3.0
11 Daniel Cunningham 1736 L1 D13 D12 H--- L14 W17 2.5
12 James T Lake 1719 L3 L15 D11 W10 L9 W18 2.5
13 Andrew L Ehrman 1706 L8 D11 W14 L3 W16 L4 2.5
14 Jonathon Hibbard 1339 D16 L4 L13 B--- W11 L8 2.5
15 Justin Thom Storn 1810 L2 W12 L7 W17 L5 L9 2.0
16 Vito Carla 1828 D14 L17 H--- H--- L13 F10 1.5
17 Paul Poston 874 H--- W16 L6 L15 L10 L11 1.5
18 Jeff H Benjamin(House Player) 1734 U--- U--- U--- U--- U--- L12 0.0