October Tornado Recap

The October Tornado was a great success.  Thanks to all that participated.  It was our 2nd largest tournament to date, with 77 players experiencing the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat while battling it out for our largest prize fund ever of over $1600.  The Friendship UMC in Wyoming is a great site with plenty of parking, a large well-lit playing hall, and a skittles room.  Chess Earth's Rob Chenault set up an impressive display of chess products for sale.  Shout out to Cincinnati Chess Club member Mark Miller for helping us secure this site.  Tournament director Alan Hodge did a fantastic job directing and keeping things running smoothly.  Fred Mastin was assistant TD and organizer.  CCC members Duane Larkin, Fred Mastin, Bryan Fleischman, Mark Miller and Dinesh Kumar Palaniswamy and sons get a big shout out for setting up and cleaning up after the tournament.

Now to the winners.  In the open section, Brett Passen scored a perfect 4.0 to take 1st place.  FM Hans Multhopp took clear 2nd with 3.5 points.  Abhinav Pullabhotla, David Friedman, Andrew Ehrman, Russell Wilson & Chris Ping Liu all tied with 3 points to split up the 3rd place and U2001 class prizes.  Vijay Kannan took the U1801 prize.  8 other players shared in the U17, U16 & U1500 class prizes.

In the U1400 section, we had a 5-way tie for 1st, 2nd & 3rd place.  Nandan Wriddhi, Jonathon Hibbard, Ethan Boley, Zachary Brearton & Matthew Baker all scored 3.5 points.  Joshua Smith won the U1000 prize with a score of 3.0.  Aaron Zhang & Charlie Ha split the top Unrated prize with 2.5 points.  7 other players shared in the U12, U800 & 2nd Unrated prizes.

Overall, it was great tournament!  We had our 2nd largest number of entrants and the largest prize fund ever.  Congratulations to all the prize winners.  Thanks again to all that participated to help make this one of the best Tornadoes we have had.  Watch your emails for next year's Tornado schedule.  

Overview of the playing hall
Round 3, Jeff Davis vs. Ido Ater Datz
Round 3, Ruiyang Gao vs. Stan Jackson
Round 2, FM Hans Multhopp vs. Ruiyang Gao
Tournament Director Alan Hodge
Another overview of the playing hall